How can we help?

Purchases and Licenses

I purchased the app and didn’t get a license!

Did you purchase the application from an online store (App Store, Google Play, Microsoft Store, Steam)?

Unfortunately, licenses (ID and key) are only issued when purchasing physical bundles, not when purchasing the apps in an online store, as this is not allowed by the rules of these stores.

Apps and licenses are equivalent in function, but licenses can be installed on all platforms, while apps downloaded from an online store will only run on the platform of the respective store.

Before 2018, licenses for Windows/macOS could also be purchased through our website and PayPal. We no longer offer this option.

I purchased the app in an online store. Can I use it in another store or on a standalone Windows/macOS version?

In most cases: unfortunately no.

Apps purchased from a store such as Google Play, App Store, Microsoft Store, or Steam will only work on the corresponding platform of the store.

Because of the store’s rules, we cannot automatically generate licenses or codes from purchases that would allow them to be unlocked on other platforms.

Licenses for different platforms may only be used in conjunction with a physical product such as our instrument bundles.

I purchased the app and nothing happened!

Usually, after pressing the “Buy” button in the app, you will be redirected to a shop screen to proceed with your purchase. Upon completion, the app should inform you that it is now fully unlocked.

If for some reason this has not happened, but your purchase has been completed, we recommend that you restart the app and try the “Restore Purchase” button below the “Buy” button. Please make sure you are permanently connected to the Internet.

If the purchase still does not work, please contact us via

I purchased the full version but the levels are still locked! Why?

The levels are not really “locked” anymore, they are just waiting for you to open them.

If you have purchased the full version of our app, you have access to all the main levels of the game. But you must first complete level 1 to unlock level 2, level 2 to unlock level 3, and so on.

I have purchased your app before but now it asks me for a “purchase”/”license” and “restore purchases” does not work. Why?

If restoring your purchase does not work even though you are logged in with the correct account, there are two possible reasons:

1) If you are using an Android device, the data for Google Play purchases on the device may be out of date. This is a common problem, but you can fix it. First, close our app completely via the “open apps” screen, then go to the list of apps installed on your device. Search for “Google Play Store” and “Google Play Services” and delete the cached data for both. If you now open our app, you should be able to restore your purchase.

2) You may have purchased an earlier version of the app but are trying to use the newer one. In the past, we have changed most of our apps from a directly paid version to a free trial version with in-app purchase of the full version. Unfortunately, it was not possible to automatically convert existing users, as the stores considered the app to be a completely new app. We are very sorry for this inconvenience! If this problem applies to you, please send us an email with a copy of your purchase confirmation ( feel free to remove any sensitive information) and we will try to give you access to the latest version.

I want to purchase something, but it always says “The purchase system isn’t ready”. My Internet connection is on! What is happening?

Most likely the system had a problem trying to boot and is now causing these difficulties. It should normally be able to make purchases again after a short time with an active Internet connection. If this is not the case, we recommend that you close the app completely and try again afterwards.

To close the app on Android and iOS, open the screen that shows all open apps and close our app completely by sliding it up.

Can I use a license on multiple devices?

Yes, most of the licenses included in our physical bundles allow you to use our applications on 3 different personal devices.

If you should no longer have access to one of the devices, our system can renew access after some time and you can use your license on another new device.

I purchased your software for a personal device. Can I also use it in the classroom?

If the device you use in the classroom is yours, for example your laptop that you bring to class every day, you can definitely do that.

Also on a school computer that is only used by one person, the same license may be used.

However, if several people share the same computer, the school should purchase a corresponding number of individual licenses.

I bought a recorder that advertises Flute Master but there’s no license inside.

Some recorders only contain a reference to Flute Master (and the QR code to our website), so you know the app exists and can teach you to play the recorder. These recorders do not include a license to actually unlock the full game.

Unless the package states that a license is included, as is the case with bundles from Voggenreiter and some from Yamaha, the bundle does not include a license.

The license in any case is functionally equivalent to a purchase from one of the online stores such as Google Play, App Store, Microsoft Store and Steam (for the respective operating systems), which can be made from within the game itself. The advantage of having a license is that it can be used on multiple devices and different operating systems, which is not the case with purchases from the online stores.

I purchased your product on the Apple App Store and want to share it with my family but it’s not working!

Did you make the purchase in the App Store or within the App?
Unfortunately, Apple does not allow the use of Family Sharing for in-app purchases, but only for products that are paid up front.

Inserting a license while on my school network gives an HTTP error!

This error can occur due to limitations in your school’s network, especially if it is SSL or port 443.

Please contact the person/team responsible for managing your school’s network and inform them that our applications require access to the domain “” and its subdomains (* via port 443, which is used for secure https connections. Most importantly, the applications require access to the sub-domain “”, which is used for license verification.

My school wants to purchase an app using Apple’s Volume Purchase Program for Education (VPP) but it’s not working. Why?

We apologise that this is not possible at the moment.
Unfortunately, Apple does not allow in-app purchases via the VPP, so we will have to create additional versions of our apps, which can be purchased in advance.
We are working on it!

I want a refund for my purchase on an online store (App Store, Google Play, Microsoft Store). What do I do?

First of all: If you have a problem with our apps, we will be happy to help you via to try to fix it. However, if we can’t solve your problem this way, or if you simply made a mispurchase, please proceed as follows:

Only Apple can make refunds for apps on the App Store. Please follow their instructions here:

For Google Play please follow these instructions and read the general information:

In the Microsoft Store, you can find further help on how to get a refund for app purchases made here:


The game is not responding to my instrument (recorder, drum sticks, etc). There are no detected notes at all!

Did you get an error message from the app when using the microphone? Then it could be that you have not yet allowed it to access the microphone of your device. The app will ask you for this permission the first time you start it. If you want to edit this setting later, go to System Preferences, select the app and enable microphone access. You can usually find this option under the menu items “Privacy” or “Permissions”. Don’t worry, our apps only use the microphone for sound recognition.

If this was not the cause of the problem, it could also be due to the microphone selection.

In Windows and Mac OS, check that your microphone is working and is selected as the default microphone (Note: You may even be able to select the appropriate microphone within the app, even if you don’t have the default microphone set in your System Preferences).

  • In Windows, right-click on the volume icon in the system tray (lower right corner of the screen), click on “Open sound settings” and select the default input device. You can get better results by activating filters (“Enhancements”), because the mute background noise.
  • Under macOS you can make these settings here: System Settings > Sound > and here under Input select your >Input Device>.

To see if your microphone works at all, check the level of your microphone by simply generating noise (under Windows a green bar should appear, under macOS a grey bar).

The game is frequently detecting other notes and is very sensitive when I play.

If you are using your device’s speaker and the sound is set very loud, the microphone may have trouble distinguishing the sounds you play from the music in the app. For this reason, we recommend wearing headphones when playing.

Another possible solution is to move the microphone away from the speakers (if possible) or reduce the volume of the game.

Also, if there is a lot of noise around you (e.g. from traffic or people talking loudly), the game may not be able to hear your instrument well. Try to find a quiet place to practice.

If possible, you can also play closer to the microphone. This helps the game a little.

The problem can also be technical. If you are playing under Windows or MacOS, please check the input volume of the microphone:

– In Windows, double-click on the microphone and go to “Level”.
– Under MacOS, select your input device under Sound > Input.

Make sure that the input volume and/or boost level are sufficiently high.

Why can I do a number of things only after I have purchased the full version?

We understand the question, but please keep in mind that our applications are essentially still paid software. We provide them as free trial versions, so you can try them out to see if they work well for you before you buy the full version.

If something is not available in the light/demo/trial version, it’s because we thought it would make more sense for users to have access to it only after they have purchased it.

Google Play reports that your app requires access to my “Photos/Media/Files”. Why?

Don’t worry, we will definitely not access your photos or any random files on your device.

What our apps do need, however, is permission to access the device’s memory to store your progress.

Depending on the app, these permissions may be necessary to import/export files, but you always have control over the selection of this data.

I’m trying to install one of your apps on Windows 10 / macOS but I get a warning that the app may be unsafe and it doesn’t let me open it!

This warning appears due to downloading the app from the Internet. If you downloaded the app from our website, this is normal.

To open the app on Windows you can press “More info” in the warning screen and then “Run anyway”.

On macOS, you may need to right-click the app and select “Open” INSTEAD of just double-clicking the app to open. Doing it from the context menu lets you choose “Open” again in the question dialog that appears.

The game does not work! At some point it crashes or hangs up, is slow etc. What can I do?

Oh dear!

If this happens, please contact us via and explain the problem. Tell us on which device (model) and operating system you have installed the application (Windows, MacOS, iOS or Android) as well as the version of the application (you can see this in the options menu, e.g. it says “2.20.01”).

If we cannot find a solution, you can request a refund. For details, see “I want a refund for my purchase. What do I need to do?”.

To show the whole class how the application runs, I try to display it on a TV/interactive whiteboard from my device, but there is no sound/picture. Help!

Projecting from a laptop or desktop computer usually works well. However, the problem described often occurs with mobile devices.

If you’re using an iOS device, try using the control panel to select a different AirPlay configuration. Also, make sure your device has the latest version of iOS installed.

If you are still having problems, please contact us at Explain the situation and tell us which app you are trying to project. Together we will surely find a solution to the problem!

I have another problem! / A solution given here did not work. What should I do?

Please contact us via and explain the problem. If it’s a technical issue, please mention what operating system you are running the app on (Windows, macOS, iOS or Android) as well as the app’s version (you should find this in the options menu as something like “2.20.01”).

On working days we will reply as soon as possible.

Flute Master

The bats/notes are out of sync with the music track.

Depending on the device, the bats and the music may not be in sync.

To fix this problem, please use the “Audio Delay” slider, which you can find in the options menu.

If the bats pass the tower too early (i.e. before their correct time in the track), try a lower (more negative) value.
If the opposite is the case, try positive values.
Find out which value works best for your device.

Can I get the background tracks and the recorder sheet music for the main Flute Master tracks?


You can get all of the individual background tracks from here:

For sheet music, please download this zip file. It contains the sheet music for the 30 main tracks:

Why is the game called Flute Master if it’s about recorders?

The recorder is an “inner channel flute”, so it is a flute with a whistle mouthpiece. The flute family is large!

We understand that this can cause confusion, but the name “Recorder Master” didn’t really seem appropriate to us (and was already taken at the time). For most English-speaking people whose native language is not English, “Recorder” is simply a device that records sound, as this is the most common definition.

In addition, Portuguese, for example, refer to the recorder as “flauta” (or “flauta de bisel”), which is much more similar to the word “flute”. This is also the case in many other European languages.

But of course you are right, it is a game about (soprano) recorders. A real “flute”, i.e. a transverse flute, will not work with Flute Master.

Cornelius Composer

Can I compose for two piano hands and for multiple instruments?

Unfortunately, this is not yet possible.

But this is a feature we will definitely add to Cornelius Composer in the future.

Can I print the sheet music I compose?

Yes, you can.

Use the export function in the side menu and export the score as PDF. You can then open and print it like any PDF file.

Please note that this export function is only available in the full version of Cornelius Composer (i.e. after purchase).

Didn’t find the solution for your issue? Then please write us here. We are happy to help you out!